The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Center for Portuguese Studies and Culture / Tagus Press is a multidisciplinary international studies and outreach unit dedicated to the study of the language, literatures and cultures of the Portuguese-speaking world. Working in close partnership with the Department of Portuguese and the Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives, it is the oldest of these units devoted to Portuguese at UMass Dartmouth.

Staff and Executive Board


  • Victor K. Mendes, Ph.D., University of Lisbon; Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies in Portuguese (MA & PhD); CPSC Director; CPSC Executive Board Member (1996-2011 & 2013-2016)
    Victor K. Mendes' Home Page

Executive Staff

  • Mario Pereira, Ph.D., Brown University; Executive Editor, Tagus Press at UMass Dartmouth, Center for Portuguese Studies and Culture (2011 - Present)

Administrative Assistant

Executive Board

  • Dário Borim Jr., Ph.D., University of Minnesota; Professor of Portuguese; Executive Board Member (2000-Present)
    Dário Borim's Home Page
  • John Fobanjong, Ph.D., University of Arizona; Professor of Political Science; Executive Board Member (2005-present)
    John Fobanjong's Home Page
  • Memory A. Holloway, Ph.D., Courtauld Institute of Art, University of London; Professor Emerita of Art History; Emerita, Non-voting, Executive Board Member (1997-Present)
    Memory Holloway's Home Page
  • Andrea C. Klimt, Ph.D., Stanford University; Professor of Sociology and Anthropology; Executive Board Member (1997-Present)
    Andrea C. Klimt's Home Page
  • Anna M. Klobucka, Ph.D., Harvard University; Professor of Portuguese and Women's and Gender Studies; Executive Board Member (2001-Present)
    Anna Klobucka's Home Page
  • Christopher Larkosh, Ph.D., University of California Berkeley; Associate Professor of Portuguese; Executive Board Member (2007-Present)
    Christopher Larkosh's Home Page
  • Cristina Mehrtens, Ph.D., University of Miami; Associate Professor of History and Women's & Gender Studies; Executive Board Member (2004-Present)
    Cristina Mehrtens' Home Page
  • Sónia Pacheco, MIFt, University of Toronto; Librarian Archivist; Executive Board Member (2009 - present)
  • Isabel Rodrigues, Ph.D., Brown University; Associate Professor of Anthropology and Sociology; Executive Board Member (2004-Present)
    Isabel Rodrigues' Home Page
  • M. Gloria de Sá, Ph.D., Brown University; Associate Professor of Sociology and Anthropology and Faculty Director of Ferreira Mendes Portuguese-American Archives; Executive Board Member (2007-Present)
    M. Gloria de Sá's Home Page
  • Gláucia Silva, Ph.D., University of Iowa; Professor of Portuguese and Chair of the Department of Portuguese; Executive Board Member (2005-Present)
    Gláucia Silva's Home Page
  • Timothy Walker, Ph.D., Boston University, Professor of History; Executive Board Member (2004-Present)
    Timothy Walker 's Home Page